

Communication and Marketing Department Isebe IoThungelwano neNtengiso Kommunikasie en Bemarkingsdepartement

Private Bag X3, Rondebosch 7701, South Africa Welgelegen House, Chapel Road Extension, Rosebank, Cape Town Tel: +27 (0) 21 650 5427/5428/5674 Fax: +27 (0) 21 650 5628

www.uct.ac.za

8 July 2024

Incoming UCT vice-chancellor to commence on 1 August

The University of Cape Town (UCT)'s incoming Vice-Chancellor, Professor Mosa Moshabela, will now commence his tenure with effect from 1 August 2024.

Further to the <u>announcement of 24 May 2024</u> conveying the decision of the UCT Council to appoint Professor Moshabela, the incoming vice-chancellor has since become available to take up the appointment earlier than 1 October 2024.

He will take over from Emeritus Professor Daya Reddy, who has led UCT on an interim basis since March 2023.

Chair of Council, Norman Arendse (SC), said: "Professor Reddy, who is in full support of the earlier start date, will step down as vice-chancellor *interim* on 31 July 2024 and will continue to be available to support Professor Moshabela in a part-time advisory capacity for a period of time that is to be determined.

"UCT owes Professor Reddy a debt of gratitude for taking on the responsibilities of vice-chancellor at a very challenging time for our institution, and making a significant leadership contribution when it was most needed. The UCT Council extends its deep gratitude to Professor Reddy and welcomes Professor Moshabela as the next vice-chancellor with effect from 1 August 2024."

The new UCT Council, which held its first plenary meeting on Saturday, 6 July 2024, has been constituted and all members (30 in total) have been appointed in terms of the institutional statute. The most immediate order of business was for Council to elect its chairperson and deputy, and appoint members and chairpersons of key Council committees. Arendse was elected as Council chairperson, and Nomarashiya Caluza as deputy chairperson.

"Ms Caluza and I are honoured to have been elected to serve as the deputy chairperson and chairperson of Council respectively. We, and each of the members of Council, embrace the

fiduciary duties and associated responsibilities that we now have, and I am confident that as a Council we will work collectively in the best interest of UCT.

"Council extends its appreciation to each of the electing and appointing bodies for attending to and concluding their respective processes that have led to the appointment of the new Council within the required timeframe. The constituting meeting of 6 July marked the passing of the baton from the previous to the new Council whose four-year term (1 July 2024–30 June 2028) has now commenced."

• View the full list of Council members.

The following members were appointed to chair key Council committees:

- Irma Stern Committee: Ms Dianna Yach
- Honorary Degrees Committee: Professor Eddy Maloka
- Social, Ethics and Transformation Committee: Ms Nazeema Mohamed
- University Audit & Risk Committee: Mr Oratile Mothudi
- University Building & Development Committee: Mr Malcolm Campbell
- University Finance Committee: Mr Reeza Isaacs
- University Human Resources Committee: Ms Dianna Yach
- University Information and Communication Technology Committee: Dr Maletsabisa Molapo
- University Naming Committee: Mr David Ansara

"Council had a constructive and productive first plenary meeting which included a facilitated session on institutional governance and Council effectiveness. This is a basis from which further induction discussions will follow. I am confident that UCT has a governing body composed of skilled and committed members who will serve the interests of our university as we discharge our fiduciary duties," concluded Arendse.

ENDS

Issued by: UCT Communication and Marketing Department

Elijah Moholola

Spokesperson Communication and Marketing Department University of Cape Town Rondebosch Tel: 021 650 5674 Cell: 083 981 7770

Email: elijah.moholola@uct.ac.za Website: www.uct.ac.za