

Communication and Marketing Department Isebe IoThungelwano neNtengiso Kommunikasie en Bemarkingsdepartement

Private Bag X3, Rondebosch 7701, South Africa Welgelegen House, Chapel Road Extension, Rosebank, Cape Town Tel: +27 (0) 21 650 5427/5428/5674 Fax: +27 (0) 21 650 5628

www.uct.ac.za

## 28 October 2024

# UCT academics among top scholars in South Africa honoured by ASSAf

Nine University of Cape Town (UCT) academics are among 44 of the country's leading scholars and scientists who were inaugurated as members of the <u>Academy of Science of</u> <u>South Africa</u> (ASSAf) at its annual awards ceremony on Wednesday, 23 October 2024.

Professor Emese Bordy from UCT's <u>Department of Geological Sciences</u> has made history as one of the two first female geologist professors in the academy.

As the official academy of South Africa, ASSAf has as a core function to honour the country's most outstanding scholars by electing them to membership of the academy. ASSAf members are drawn from the full spectrum of disciplines.

Professor Bordy said: "This accolade comes as I step into my new role as deputy dean in the Faculty of Science at UCT, thus firmly opening a chapter of my life in which I serve even more my immediate scientific community of students and colleagues and the broader community of both extant and extinct organisms in my orbit.

"As a geologist working at the intersection of sedimentology and palaeontology in Africa, I hope to serve all, using the perspective I gained from studying the Earth and its stories. I also thank all the colleagues who participated in my ASSAf acceptance process for their vote of confidence."

New members are elected each year by the full existing membership. Membership is the academy is a great honour and is in recognition of scholarly achievement.

The 44 new ASSAf members bring the total membership of ASSAf to 730.

#### The nine new UCT members at the ASSAf are:

- Professor Babatunde Abiodun, director of Nasen-Tutu Centre and DST/NRF SARChI Chair (interim) in ocean and atmospheric modelling, Department of Oceanography.
- Professor Jason Bantjes, chief specialist scientist at the Mental Health, Alcohol, Substance Use and Tobacco Research Unit, South African Medical Research Council (SAMRC) and honorary professor in the Department of Psychiatry and Mental Health.

- Professor Emese Bordy, Department of Geological Sciences.
- Professor Beatrice Conradie, agricultural economist and professor in the School of Economics.
- Professor Peter Dunsby, professor of gravitation and cosmology.
- Professor Mohamed Jeebhay, head of the Occupational Medicine Division, School of Public Health and Family Medicine.
- Professor Michelle Louw, head of the Department of Commercial Law and professor of law and banking law.
- Professor Charalampos Skokos, professor of applied mathematics, deputy dean for postgraduate studies and research in the Faculty of Science.
- Professor Catherine Ward, professor in the Department of Psychology.

Professor Mohamed Jeebhay said: "Making the world of work healthy and safe has been my passion for more than 30 years. I am elated to see that the study of the health issues of working people is becoming increasingly relevant as other fields of medicine. The field of occupational medicine is worthy of being acknowledged and taken seriously since it contributes significantly to human development and the quality of life of working people."

### Issued by: UCT Communication and Marketing Department

Ends

#### Thami Nkwanyane

Media Liaison and Monitoring Officer Communication and Marketing Department University of Cape Town Rondebosch Tel: (021) 650 5672 Cell: (072) 563 9500 Email: <u>thami.nkwanyane@uct.ac.za</u> Website: www.uct.ac.za